top of page
4th Annual CBER Conference
NYU Stern School of Business
New York, NY
May 23, 2024

In collaboration with Management Science, the NYU Stern Finance Department, Ava Labs, the Fubon Center for Technology, Business, and Innovation at NYU Stern, Columbia University’s Briger Family Digital Finance Lab and Center for Digital Finance and Technologies, Boston University’s Digital Business Institute at the Questrom School of Business, Ecole Polytechnique, FinTech at Cornell - an Initiative of the SC Johnson College of Business, the FinTech Research Center at the University of Florida, the University of Toronto Rotman School of Management's FinHub, and the Wake Forest University School of Business

Keynote Speech

Session Sponsored by Boston University
Introduction by Professor Lin William Cong (Cornell University)

Maureen O'Hara is the Robert W. Purcell Professor of Finance at the Johnson Graduate School of Management, Cornell University, and she also holds a professorship at the University of Technology Sydney. Professor O'Hara has served as president of the American Finance Association, the Western Finance Association, the Financial Management Association, the Society for Financial Studies and the International Atlantic Economic Society. She was the executive editor of the Review of Financial Studies, and co-editor of the Review of Asset Pricing Studies. Professor O'Hara was a member of the CFTC-SEC Emerging Regulatory Issues Task Force (the "flash crash" committee), the global advisory board of the Securities Exchange Board of India (SEBI), and the advisory board of the Office of Financial Research, U.S. Treasury. Most recently she served on the SEC Equity Market Structure Advisory Board. She has consulted for a number of companies and organizations, including Facebook, Microsoft, Merrill Lynch, Credit Suisse, the New York Stock Exchange, Bristol-Meyers Squibb, and the World Federation of Exchanges.

Professor Maureen O'Hara

Cornell University

Fireside Chat

Moderated by Professor Campbell Harvey (Duke University)

Summer K. Mersinger was nominated by President Biden to serve as a Commissioner of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission and was unanimously confirmed by the Senate. She was sworn into office on March 30, 2022.

Prior to her appointment, Ms. Mersinger served as the Chief of Staff to CFTC Commissioner Dawn D. Stump.  She also served as the Director of the Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs at the Commodity Futures Trading Commission under former Chairman Heath Tarbert. 

Ms. Mersinger has 20 years of Capitol Hill and government relations experience. Prior to joining the CFTC, she was Senior Vice President at Smith-Free Group, a leading government affairs practice, where she worked on financial services issues including advocating for large fintech organizations.

Summer K. Mersinger

Commissioner, Commodity Futures Trading Commission

Ethereum Foundation Session

Moderated by Professor Evgeny Lyandres (Tel Aviv University)

Caspar Schwarz-Schilling

Ethereum Consensus: Proof-of-Stake, Staking Incentives and Gasper


Barnabé Monnot

Beyond the Protocol: Proposer-Builder-Separation and Relays


Michael Neuder

LSTs and LRTs: Is Restaking the new Staking?


Kose John (co-chair)

NYU Stern

Julien Prat

Ecole Polytechnique

David Yermack (co-chair)

NYU Stern

Fahad Saleh

University of Florida

Andreas Park

University of Toronto

Gerry Tsoukalas

Boston University

Advisory Committee

Volodymyr Babich

Georgetown University

Lin William Cong

Cornell University

Yuliya Guseva

Rutgers University

Joel Hasbrouck

NYU Stern

Garud Iyengar

Columbia University

Gordon Liao


Ciamac Moallemi

Columbia University

Wei Xiong

Princeton University

Bruno Biais

HEC Paris

Joshua Gans

University of Toronto

Hanna Halaburda

NYU Stern

Zhiguo He

Stanford University

Leonid Kogan

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Evgeny Lyandres

Tel Aviv University

Christine Parlour

University of California, Berkeley

Agostino Capponi

Columbia University

Rod Garratt

University of California, Santa Barbara

Campbell Harvey

Duke University

Gur Huberman

Columbia University

Scott Kominers

Harvard University

Igor Makarov

London School of Economics

Lee Schneider

Ava Labs

Program Committee

Arash Aloosh


Matthieu Bouvard

Toulouse School of Economics

Yao Cui

Cornell University

Deeksha Gupta

Johns Hopkins University

Ruizhe Jia

Columbia University

Steve Kou

Boston University

Jacob Leshno

University of Chicago

Ye Li

University of Washington at Seattle

Katya Malinova

McMaster University

Abdoulaye Ndiaye

NYU Stern

Talis Putnins

University of Technology Sydney

Linda Schilling

Washington University in St. Louis

Amin Shams

Ohio State University

Ruslan Sverchkov

Warwick Business School

Murat Tunc

Tilburg University

Joshua White

Vanderbilt University

Anthony Zhang

University of Chicago

Nicola Borri

LUISS University

Jonathan Chiu

Bank of Canada

Brett Falk

University of Pennsylvania

Dominik Gutt

Erasmus University

Mariana Khapko

University of Toronto

Jongsub Lee

Seoul National University

Jiasun Li

George Mason University

Yukun Liu

University of Rochester

Simon Mayer

Carnegie Mellon University

Emiliano Pagnotta

Singapore Management University

Daniel Rabetti

National University of Singapore

Caspar Schwarz-Schilling

Ethereum Foundation

Shiva Shekhar

Tilburg University

Ke Tang

Tsinghua University

Quentin Vandeweyer

University of Chicago

Baozhong Yang

Georgia State University

Luyao Zhang

Duke Kunshan University

Thomas Bourveau

Columbia University

Jiri Chod

Boston College

Rowena Gan

Southern Methodist University

Sabrina Howell

NYU Stern

Thorsten Koeppel

Queen's University

Alfred Lehar

University of Calgary

Tao Li

University of Florida

Bowen Lou

University of Connecticut

Barnabé Monnot

Ethereum Foundation

Mariia Petryk

George Mason University

Thomas Rivera

McGill University

Gustavo Schwenkler

Santa Clara University

Donghwa Shin

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Katrin Tinn

McGill University

Jean-Philippe Vergne

UCL School of Management

Ariel Zetlin-Jones

Carnegie Mellon University

Marius Zoican

University of Toronto

bottom of page