

3rd Annual CBER Forum Conference

Columbia University
David Geffen Hall, Manhattanville Campus
645 West 130th Street New York, NY 10027
May 5th - 6th, 2023

In collaboration with Management Science, Columbia University's Briger Family Digital Finance
Lab and Center for Digital Finance and Technologies, Boston University's Digital Business
Institute at the Questrom School of Business, Ecole Polytechnique, FinTech at Cornell - an
Initiative of the SC Johnson College of Business, the NYU Stern School of Business, the
University of Toronto Rotman School of Management's FinHub, and the Wake Forest University
School of Businesss

REGISTER FOR CONFERENCE

Friday, May 5th

Registration and Breakfast

8:30 am - 9:15 am

Welcome and Opening Remarks

9:15 am – 9:30 am

Ciamac Moallemi, Director of Briger Family Digital Finance Lab, Columbia Business School

Decentralized Autonomous Organizations Session

9:30 am – 11:00 am

Session Chair: Katya Malinova, McMaster University

Collusion-Proof Oracles for Decentralized Autonomous Organizations

- Alexander Braun, University of St. Gallen
- Niklas Haeusle, University of St. Gallen

Discussant: Andrea Canidio, IMT School for Advanced Studies and CoW Protocol

The Economics of Decentralized Autonomous Organizations

Valerie Laturnus, Goethe University

Discussant: Deeksha Gupta, Johns Hopkins University

Lunch with Keynote Address

11:00 am - 12:45 pm

Moderator: Pamela Moulton, Cornell University

Eswar Prasad

Tolani Senior Professor of Trade Policy Cornell University



Decentralized Finance: A Practitioner's Panel

12:45 pm - 2:15 pm

Moderator: Ciamac Moallemi, Columbia University

- Nathan Allman, Ondo Finance
- Matt Cushman, Ajna Finance
- Gordon Liao, Circle
- Aseem Sood, Uniswap

Perspectives and Regulations of Digital Finance Panel

2:30 pm - 4:00 pm

Moderators: Agostino Capponi, Columbia University and Bruce Choy, Global Risk Institute

- Mohamad AL-Bustami, Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada
- Francesca Carapella, Federal Reserve Board of Governors
- Michael J. Lee, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
- Valerie Szczepanik, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Presentation by Inaugural CBER-Circle Award Winner

4:00 - 4:30 pm

Session Chair: Gordon Liao, Circle

Flash Boys 2.0: Frontrunning, Transaction Reordering, and Consensus Instability in Decentralized Exchanges

- Ari Juels, Cornell University
- Philip Daian, Cornell University
- Steven Goldfeder, Cornell University
- Tyler Kell, Cornell University
- Yunqi Li, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
- Xueyuan Zhao, Carnegie Mellon University
- Iddo Bentov, Cornell University
- · Lorenz Breidenbach, ETH Zurich



Saturday, May 6th

Registration and Breakfast

8:30 am – 9:15 am

Opening Remarks

9:15 am – 9:30 am

Agostino Capponi, Director of the Center for Digital Finance and Technologies, Columbia Engineering Garud Iyengar, Senior Vice Dean for Research and Academic Programs, Columbia Engineering

Digital Payments Session

9:30 am - 11:00 am

Session Chair: Garud Iyengar, Columbia University

Money, Credit and Anonymity

- Remo Taudien, Foundation of the Swiss National Bank
- Fabienne Schneider, Foundation of the Swiss National Bank

Discussant: Katrin Tinn, McGill University

Lightning Network Economics: Topology

- Paolo Guasoni, Dublin City University
- Gur Huberman, Columbia University
- Clara Shikhelman, Chaincode

Discussant: Brett Falk, University of Pennsylvania

Decentralized Finance Session

11:15 am - 12:45 pm

Session Chair: Lawrence Glosten, Columbia University

Interest Rate Parity in Decentralized Finance

- · Amit Chaudhary, Polygon
- · Roman Kozhan, University of Warwick
- Ganesh Viswanath Natraj, University of Warwick

Discussant: Quentin Vandeweyer, University of Chicago

Battle of the Bots: Flash loans, Miner Extractable Value and Efficient Settlement

- · Alfred Lehar, University of Calgary
- Christine Parlour, University of California Berkeley

Discussant: Joel Hasbrouck, NYU Stern

Lunch with Keynote Address

12:45 pm - 2:00 pm

Moderator: Kose John, NYU Stern

Tobias Adrian

Director of Monetary and Capital Markets International Monetary Fund



Closing Remarks And Conference Awards

2:00 pm - 2:15 pm

Agostino Capponi, Columbia University and Ciamac Moallemi, Columbia University



Organizers

Agostino Capponi
Columbia University
Columbia University
Columbia University

Lin William Cong
Cornell University

Hanna Halaburda NYU Stern Andreas Park
U of Toronto

Julien Prat Ecole Polytechnique Fahad Saleh Wake Forest Gerry Tsoukalas

Boston University

Collaborating Editors

Bruno Biais HEC Paris Joshua Gans U of Toronto Anindya Ghose
NYU Stern

Kay Giesecke Stanford University

Maureen O'Hara Cornell University Tomasz Piskorski Columbia University Suraj Srinivasan Harvard University

CBER-Circle Insight Selection Committee

Joshua Gans U of Toronto Gordon Liao Circle Christine Parlour Berkeley Haas Tim Roughgarden Columbia University

David Yermack NYU Stern

Program Committee

Arash Aloosh
NEOMA

Jonathan Chiu
Bank of Canada

Rowena Gan
Southern Methodist

Campbell Harvey
Duke University

Kose John
NYU Stern

Steven Kou
Boston University
Jiasun Li

George Mason

Laura Liu
Peking University

Igor Makarov LSE

Christine Parlour Berkeley Haas

Gustavo Schwenkler Santa Clara

Ke Tang
Tsinghua University
Wei Xiong

Princeton University

Anthony Zhang

Anthony Zhang U of Chicago Volodymyr Babich Georgetown University

> Jiri Chod Boston College

Rod Garratt U of California SB

Zhiguo He U of Chicago

Mariana Khapko U of Toronto

> Jongsub Lee Seoul National Tao Li

U of Florida
Yukun Liu
U of Rochester

Katya Malinova
McMaster University

Mariia Petryk George Mason

Amin Shams
Ohio State

Katrin Tinn

McGill University

Baozhong Yang
Georgia State

Luyao Zhang Duke Kunshan Nicola Borri LUISS University

Yao Cui Cornell University

Deeksha Gupta

Johns Hopkins

Gur Huberman Columbia University

Thorsten Koeppel Queen's University

Alfred Lehar U of Calgary

Ye Li U of Washington

Bowen Lou U of Connecticut

Simon Mayer HEC Paris

Thomas Rivera McGill University Shiva Shekhar

Tilburg University

Murat Tunc
Tilburg University

David Yermack NYU Stern

Marius Zoican U of Toronto Matthieu Bouvard

Brett Falk U of Pennsylvania

Dominik Gutt Erasmus University

Garud Iyengar Columbia University

Scott Duke Kominers
Harvard University
Jacob Leshno

U of Chicago Gordon Liao

Circle

Evgeny Lyandres
Tel Aviv University

Emiliano Pagnotta Singapore Management

Linda Schilling
Washington University
Donghwa Shin

U of North Carolina

Jean-Philippe Vergne

UCL

Ariel Zetlin-Jones Carnegie Mellon